The Alberta Introductory
Biology Association (AIBA)

Main Content

About Us

WE ARE a committed group of Alberta educators who work together to promote the best educational experience for aspiring biologists.

The Alberta Introductory Biology Association normally meets once a year at one of the various college and university campuses around our province.  We take turns hosting the event.

Although the association has been meeting unofficially for many years, we became a registered society in 2013.  With a new board structure in place and the opportunity to organize our finances, the AIBA has become more sustainable and stable.  We look forward to continuing our work of supporting our teaching colleagues and sharing ideas and resources between our post-secondary institutions.

You can navigate to the various sections using the links at the top of this page.

If you have any questions, ideas, or if you want to become a member, please contact me at tnickle@mtroyal.ca.  We are inclusive:  you need not be a biologist or a professor.  Anyone interested in promoting effective and engaging biology education is welcome.

2016-2017 Board Members

President:  Todd Nickle (tnickle@mtroyal.ca)

Vice President: Neil Haave (nhaave@ualberta.ca)

Secretary:  Jody Rintoul (rintoul@ualberta.ca)

Treasurer:  Carla Starchuk (starchuk@ualberta.ca)

Communications: Melissa Hills (HillsM2@macewan.ca)

Member-at-Large:  Heather Addy (addy@ucalgary.ca)